APPLAUS: Venue Prize for Exceptional Live Music Programming

Music clubs shape and enrich our lives with their concerts and contribute to cultural diversity in Germany – whether they are in metropolises or in the countryside. To reward this exceptional live music programming, the German Federal Commissioner for Culture and the Media annually awards club operators and promoters the “APPLAUS – Award for Programming in Independent Venues” award. The ceremony takes place every autumn.

Financial Support and More Recognition for Clubs

The APPLAUS award supports music clubs and encourages them to maintain and continue developing their high-quality and trendsetting programming.

APPLAUS Goals:

  • Financial support for smaller and medium-sized clubs and promoters with high-quality and trendsetting live music programming.
  • Increase public awareness for the musical offerings and structural challenges for independent music clubs and event series.

Special Prize for Long-Term Commitment

The jury also awards additional special prizes to honour the long-term commitment and dedication of individual stakeholders and institutions in the live music scene. Proposals for potential prize winners can be made to the jury irrespective of the regular applications for APPLAUS funding.

Winners at APPLAUS Awards 2018

Most Generous German Federal Award for Culture

Initiative Musik has been awarding the Venue Programming Prize since 2013 with the involvement of the Federal Jazz Conference and the LiveMusikKommission – Association of Music Venues in Germany. APPLAUS has meanwhile become a well-established federal award.
To date, more than 420 music clubs and event series have received awards from all genres of popular music, including rock, hip-hop, electronic music, experimental pop music and jazz. More than 7.2 million euros have been made available in prize money, making APPLAUS the most generous German federal award for culture.

CONTACT

Michael Wallies

head of department

APPLAUS: Spielstättenpreis für besondere Livemusikprogramme

Mit ihren Konzerten prägen und bereichern Musikclubs unser Leben und tragen zur kulturellen Vielfalt in Deutschland bei – ganz gleich, ob in den Metropolen oder im ländlichen Raum. Für diese herausragenden Livemusikprogramme prämiert die Beauftragte der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien Clubbetreiber*innen und Veranstalter*innen mit dem Preis „APPLAUS – Auszeichnung der Programmplanung unabhängiger Spielstätten“. Die Verleihung findet alljährlich im Herbst statt.

Finanzielle Stärkung und mehr Aufmerksamkeit für Clubs

Mit dem Spielstättenpreis APPLAUS werden Musikclubs unterstützt und ermutigt, ihre hochwertigen und trendsetzenden Programme zu erhalten und weiterzuentwickeln.

Ziele des APPLAUS:

  • Finanzielle Stärkung für kleine bis mittlere Clubs sowie Veranstalter*innen mit hochwertigen und trendsetzenden Live-Musikprogrammen
  • Öffentliche Aufmerksamkeit erhöhen für die musikalischen Angebote und strukturellen Herausforderungen der unabhängigen Musikclubs und Veranstaltungsreihen

Sonderpreise für langfristiges Engagement

Dazu verleiht die Jury weitere Sonderpreise, mit denen das langfristige Engagement einzelner Akteur*innen und Institutionen für die Livemusikszene honoriert werden. Vorschläge für mögliche Preisträger können von der Jury eingebracht werden, unabhängig von den regulären Anträgen zur APPLAUS-Förderung.

Preisträger*innen bei der APPLAUS-Preisverleihung 2018

Hochdotierter Bundeskulturpreis

Die Initiative Musik realisiert den Spielstättenprogrammpreis seit 2013 unter Einbeziehung der Bundeskonferenz Jazz und der LiveMusikKommission – Verband der Musikspielstätten in Deutschland e.V. Seitdem hat sich APPLAUS zu einem etablierten Bundespreis entwickelt.
Bislang haben mehr als 420 Musikclubs und Veranstaltungsreihen aus allen Genres der Popularmusik wie zum Beispiel Rock, Hip-Hop, elektronische Musik, experimentelle Popmusik und Jazz die Auszeichnung bekommen. Hierfür wurden über 7,2 Millionen Euro Fördergelder zur Verfügung gestellt. Damit ist APPLAUS einer der höchstdotierten Bundeskulturpreise.

KONTAKT

Michael Wallies

Leitung Presse und ÖA

BROSCHÜREN: PREISTRÄGER*INNEN APPLAUS