Plan!Pop – The Federal Conference for Music Promoters

At Plan!Pop, the conference put together by Initiative Musik, music promoters from all across Germany get together to discuss music. The central concern is to highlight and develop the status quo of support structures for promoting popular music throughout the federal states. Plans and opportunities are discussed with the responsible parties from politics and administrations as much as possible. A continuation of the Plan!Pop conference is planned for 2020.

 

Past Plan!Pop Conferences

Plan!Pop09 – Foundation for Initiative Musik’s Live-Music Promotion

More than two hundred pop music promoters from around the country attended the first German Plan!Pop conference in Rostock-Warnemünde in Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania. They used the two days of the conference to discuss the current status and future perspectives of support for popular music in Germany. Twelve roundtable discussions amongst experts provided specific content and practical examples dealing with the main topics of support structures, artists, the music business and communication.

Commitment to supporting music promotion

The main result of Plan!Pop09 was the participants’ commitment to focus on ongoing projects and to support music promotion over the long term and at all levels, municipally, nationally and internationally. Following Plan!Pop09, Initiative Musik appointed Henning Rümenapp commissioner for the Federal Government–Federal States Cooperation (BLK). This Initiative Musik project ran until 2013 and its goal was to establish a forum with the responsible stakeholders from the federal states, including representatives from the ministries for economics, culture and education, departments for economic development and pop-music promotion offices.

The initial foundation for Initiative Musik’s live-music grant and sponsorship programmes was laid during Plan!Pop09. Subsequently, pilot projects were realised for promoting live-music venues in Bavaria, North Rhine-Westphalia, the Stuttgart region and Berlin. To this end, a venue survey was undertaken in the five federal states of Bremen, Hamburg, Lower Saxony, North Rhine-Westphalia and Saxony, the results of which can be found in the “Music Venue Report 10/11”.

Plan!Pop12 – Focussing on Club Funding

The second federal conference focused on promoting live-music venues. Held in the Music Academy in Alteglofsheim, Bavaria, the needs of music venues were identified and solutions discussed for optimising the status quo for them. To this end, the new nationwide club network LiveMusikKommission (LiveKomm) was presented to the expert attendees. LiveKomm was able to quickly establish itself as an important association for the music industry and since 2013 has been an expert partner for Initiative Musik’s club support programmes.

Plan!Pop12 participants also discussed the existing networking models for pop promotion in Bavaria in the “Spotlight Bavaria” programme item. Twenty-two representatives from the federal state ministries, the BKM and Initiative Musik participated in the non-public “Plan!Pop Fireside Chat” to discuss topics and objectives for pop-music promotion in the federal states as well as budget issues.

Plan!Pop 09: Teilnehmer*innen © Foto: Silke Paustian
Plan!Pop 09: participants | © Photo: Silke Paustian
CONTACT

Michael Wallies

head of department

Plan!Pop – Bundeskonferenz für Musikförder*innen

Bei der von der Initiative Musik realisierten Konferenz „Plan!Pop“ diskutieren Musikförder*innen aus dem gesamten Bundesgebiet. Zentrales Anliegen ist es dabei, den Status-Quo der Strukturen zur Förderung populärer Musik in den Bundesländern aufzuzeigen und weiterzuentwickeln. Pläne und Chancen sollen dann möglichst mit den zuständigen Vertreter*innen aus Politik und Verwaltung besprochen werden. Eine Fortsetzung von Plan!Pop ist für 2020 geplant.

 

Vergangene Plan!Pop-Konferenzen

Plan!Pop09 – Grundstein für die Livemusikförderung der Initiative Musik

Zur ersten Bundesfachkonferenz Plan!Pop im Jahr 2009 in Rostock-Warnemünde, Mecklenburg-Vorpommern, kamen über 200 Popförder*innen aus dem gesamten Bundesgebiet. An zwei Programmtagen diskutierten sie über den Stand und die Perspektiven der Unterstützung von populärer Musik in Deutschland. Inhaltlich und praktisch konkret wurde es dabei in zwölf Expertenrunden und drei Workshops. Diese setzten sich mit den Themenschwerpunkten Förderstruktur, Künstler*innen, Wirtschaft und Kommunikation auseinander.

Bekenntnis zur langfristigen Unterstützung der Musikförderung

Das zentrale Ergebnis von Plan!Pop09 war die Bekenntnis der Teilnehmer*innen, auf kontinuierliche Projekte zu setzen und Musikförderung langfristig auf allen Ebenen zu unterstützen – kommunal, national und international. Im Anschluss an Plan!Pop09 wurde Henning Rümenapp von der Initiative Musik zum Beauftragten für die Bund-Länder-Kooperation (BLK) benannt. Das Projekt der Initiative Musik hatte bis 2013 das Ziel, ein Forum mit den verantwortlichen Akteuren der Bundesländer aufzubauen und zu etablieren. Dazu gehörten Vertreter der Ressorts der Wirtschafts-, Kultus- und Bildungsministerien, Wirtschaftsförderungen sowie Popförderbüros.

Bei Plan!Pop09 wurden erste Grundlagen für die Livemusikförderung der Initiative Musik gelegt. Im Anschluss konnten Pilotprojekte zur Spielstättenförderung in Bayern, Nordrhein-Westfalen, der Region Stuttgart und in Berlin durchgeführt werden. Dazu erfolgte eine Spielstättenbefragung in den fünf Bundesländern Bremen, Hamburg, Niedersachsen, Nordrhein-Westfalen und Sachsen. Die Ergebnisse sind unten im Spielstättenporträt 10/11 zu finden.

Plan!Pop12 – Spielstättenförderung im Fokus

Der inhaltliche Schwerpunkt der zweiten Bundesfachkonferenz war die Spielstättenförderung. In der Musikakademie Alteglofsheim in Bayern wurden die Bedürfnisse der Musikclubs benannt sowie Lösungsansätze diskutiert, um den Status quo der Musikclubs zu optimieren. Dazu präsentierte sich das neue bundesweite Clubnetzwerk LiveMusikKommission (LiveKomm) dem Fachpublikum. Die LiveKomm konnte sich in kurzer Zeit zu einem wichtigen Verband der Musikbranche etablieren und ist seit 2013 einer der Fachpartner für die Clubförderprogramme der Initiative Musik.

Wie ist die Popförderung vernetzt?

Weiterhin diskutierten die Teilnehmer*innen von Plan!Pop12 im Programmpunkt „Spotlight Bayern“ die bestehenden Vernetzungsmodelle der Popförderung in jenem Bundesland. Beim nicht-öffentlichen „Kamingespräch Plan!Pop“ nahmen 22 Vertreter aus Landesministerien, dem BKM und der Initiative Musik teil. In diesem Rahmen ging es um Themen- und Zielformulierungen für die Popförderung in den Ländern sowie Budgetfragen.

Plan!Pop 09: Teilnehmer*innen © Foto: Silke Paustian
Plan!Pop 09: Teilnehmer*innen | Foto: Silke Paustian
KONTAKT

Michael Wallies

Leitung Presse und ÖA

DOKUMENTATIONEN PLAN!POP & SPIELSTÄTTENPORTRÄT