GERMAN JAZZ PRIZE 2022: 31 Awards for outstanding achievements in the jazz scene

  • Artists (National): Fola Dada I Gebhard Ullmann I Shannon Barnett I Pablo Held I Ferenc Snétberger I Robert Landfermann I Oliver Steidle I
    Aly Keïta I Charlotte Greve I Punkt.Vrt.Plastik I Trickster Orchestra
  • Artists (International): Emile Parisien I Sylvie Courvoisier I Linda May Han Oh I Marilyn Mazur I Michael Mayo I Sons of Kemet
  • Recording / Production (National): Nils Wogram I Efrat Alony I Magro I
    WDR 3 / States of Play: Sonifikation
  • Recording / Production of the Year (International): Charles Lloyd & the Marvels I Gretchen Parlato I Tijn Wybenga & AM.OK
  • Live: Stadtgarten Köln I XJAZZ! Festival
  • Composition / Arrangement: Rebecca Trescher I Tilo Weber
  • Special Awards: Andrian Kreye I Ernst-Ludwig Petrowsky I Sebastian Gramss’ HARD BOILED WONDERLAND

Bremen/Berlin, 27 April, 2022

On Wednesday evening, the second edition of the GERMAN JAZZ PRIZE took place in front of 500 enthusiastic spectators at Bremen's Metropol Theater. Since 2021, the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and Media, together with Initiative Musik, has been shining the spotlight on outstanding national and international musicians and creative artists through the most important jazz award in Germany.

Minister of State for Culture, Claudia Roth: “In this country, jazz still far too often does not receive the public attention and support it deserves. We want to change that with our promotion of jazz, through Initiative Musik, the Musikfonds, and specifically, the GERMAN JAZZ PRIZE. Especially after the past two years, which were strongly marked by the pandemic, an event like the GERMAN JAZZ PRIZE is particularly important, because with it we showcase the creative power, the artistic quality and the diversity of this genre.”

31 Awards for outstanding German and international creative artists

In the category Artist of the Year (National), the GERMAN JAZZ PRIZE went to Charlotte Greve. The musical work of this saxophonist and composer, who has been living in New York for a decade, embodies a great desire for musical adventure as well as the incessant search for new artistic challenges, among others, with the bands Mood River or Lisbeth Quartett.

With the GERMAN JAZZ PRIZE going to Michael Mayo in the category Artist of the Year (International), this event honored an exceptional American singer and newcomer. On his impressive debut album "Bones", Michael Mayo uses his voice much like a musical instrument; a rather unconventional approach. In doing so, he creates a unique sound universe that defies any common genre categorisation and consequently, inspires international audiences.

Magro, a producer and jazz drummer from Berlin, builds musical bridges between adept hip hop beats and deep jazz improvisations. He received the GERMAN JAZZ PRIZE in the category Debut album of the Year, for his multi-layered release "Trippin", on which the legendary jazz guitarist Kurt Rosenwinkel and the rapper TwizzMatic, among others, collaborated.

On behalf of the international project HARD BOILED WONDERLAND and the album "Music Resistance", the Ukrainian jazz singer Tamara Lukasheva and the double bass player from Cologne and initiator of the project Sebastian Gramss, among others, received the Special award from the jury amidst thunderous applause. The collective - which includes musicians of various nationalities - critically examines current political, social and ecological issues.

Another highlight of the diverse award ceremony was the moving laudation in the Lifetime Achievement category. The impressive body of work of the exceptional German musician Ernst-Ludwig Petrowsky was honoured by the American composer, trombonist and musicologist George E. Lewis, who joined us live from the USA. The GERMAN JAZZ PRIZE was accepted by Ernst-Ludwig Petrowsky’s long-time musical duo partner and wife Uschi Brüning, as he himself was unable to be there in person due to health reasons.

All award winners at a glance


  • Vocal: Fola Dada
  • Woodwinds: Gebhard Ullmann
  • Brass: Shannon Barnett
  • Piano / Keyboards: Pablo Held
  • Guitar: Ferenc Snétberger
  • Bass: Robert Landfermann
  • Drums / Percussion: Oliver Steidle
  • Special Instruments: Aly Keïta
  • Artists of the Year: Charlotte Greve
  • Band of the Year: Vrt.Plastik
  • Large Ensemble of the Year: Trickster Orchestra
  • Woodwinds/Brass (International): Emile Parisien
  • Piano / Keyboards (International): Sylvie Courvoisier
  • String instruments (International): Linda May Han Oh
  • Drums / Percussion (International): Marilyn Mazur
  • Artist of the Year (International): Michael Mayo
  • Band of the Year (International): Sons of Kemet

Recording / Production

  • Instrumental Album of the Year: Nils Wogram – Muse
  • Vocal Album of the Year: Efrat Alony – Hollywood Isn´t Calling
  • Debut Album of the Year: Magro – Trippin
  • Radio Production of the Year: WDR 3 / States of Play: Sonifikation
  • Instrumental Album (International): Charles Lloyd & the Marvels – Tone Poem
  • Vocal Album of the Year (International): Gretchen Parlato – Flor
  • Debut Album of the Year (International): Tijn Wybenga & AM.OK – Brainteaser


  • Venue of the Year: Stadtgarten Köln
  • Festival of the Year: XJAZZ! Festival

Composition / Arrangement

  • Composition of the Year: Rebecca Trescher – Paris Zyklus | The Spirit of the Streets
  • Arrangement of the Year: Tilo Weber – Se la mia morte brami

Special awards

  • Journalistic Achievement: Andrian Kreye – American Idol
  • Lifetime Achievement: Ernst-Ludwig Petrowsky
  • Special Award of the Jury: Sebastian Gramss' HARD BOILED
    WONDERLAND– Music Resistance

The award winners for the 31 awards of the GERMAN JAZZ PRIZE received prize money totaling 10,000 euros each. This year, the other nominees will also receive 2,000 euros each. In 2022, the most important music prize for the national and international jazz scene in Germany received around 1,000 submissions, from artists, labels, as well as publishers. These were discussed and evaluated by the five expert juries and the main jury in sessions lasting several days.

The GERMAN JAZZ PRIZE 2022 is made possible financially by project funds from the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and Media. The Senator for Economic Affairs, Labour and Europe of the Free Hanseatic City of Bremen additionally supports the award ceremony with financial means. Initiative Musik brings the GERMAN JAZZ PRIZE to life in close cooperation with an advisory board consisting of 13 representatives of the jazz scene. The third edition will take place on 28 April, 2023 in Bremen in collaboration with jazzahead!


Since 2021, the GERMAN JAZZ PRIZE has been awarding prizes for outstanding artistic achievements in the national and international jazz scene in 31 categories. It is realised by Initiative Musik with project funds from the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and Media. Together with an advisory board appointed by the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and Media, and made up of representatives of the jazz scene, the concept of the German Jazz Prize is constantly being developed.

Please use #jazzpreis22 and #deutscherjazzpreis in your social media posts.

Instagram —|deutscherjazzpreis
Facebook —|deutscherjazzpreis
Twitter —|jazzpreis

Press contact:

Ulrike Schrader
T: +49 176 41514787

Michael Wallies
T:  +49 30 53147545 - 211


Please note: The GERMAN JAZZ PRIZE of the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and Media has neither an organisational nor a content-related connection to the New German Jazz Prize of IG Jazz Rhein-Neckar e.V., which is awarded once a year in Mannheim as an audience prize of the German jazz scene.