Jazz from Germany is globally respected and more than ever at the cutting edge of our time: its performers live and convey cultural diversity on stage and in teaching, in cultural management as well as in record production. Artists in jazz and improvised music are highly mobile, forming networks and developing new concepts and formats for performance, recording and distribution. In order to honour this power of innovation in all its facets, Prof. Monika Grütters, the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media (BKM), has initiated the Deutscher Jazzpreis. The prize was awarded for the first time on June 3, 2021 and is intended to establish itself as an annually recurring event.

German Jazz Prize 2023

The award ceremony will take place on Thursday, April 27, 2023, at the Metropol Theater Bremen during jazzahead! Now the 81 nominees of the 31 award categories have been selected.

The Nominees of the German Jazz Prize 2023

Objectives of the German Jazz Prize:

  • presentation and preservation of the diverse jazz scene in Germany
  • recognition and strengthening of exceptional artistic and innovative creativity and achievements in national and international jazz
  • expansion of the worldwide appeal of jazz from Germany
  • stronger anchoring of the art form jazz in society
  • visible support for jazz professionals, on the one hand, through public attention during the award ceremony and, on the other hand, through the award of appropriately funded prizes


German Jazz Prize: Award Show and Winners 2022

Artists National
1. Vocal: Fola Dada
2. Woodwings: Gebhard Ullmann
3. Brass Instruments: Shannon Barnett
4. Piano/Keyboards: Pablo Held
5. Guitar: Ferenc Snétberger
6. Bass: Robert Landfermann
7. Drums/Percussion: Oliver Steidle
8. Special Instruments: Aly Keïta
9. Artist of the Year: Charlotte Greve
10. Bandof the Year: Punkt.Vrt.Plastik
11. Large Ensemble of the Year: Trickster Orchestra
Artists International
12. Brass Instruments: Émile Parisien
13. Piano/Keyboards: Sylvie Courvoisier
14. String Instruments: Linda May Han Oh
15. Drums/Percussion: Marilyn Mazur
16. Artist of the Year: Michael Mayo
17. Band of the Year: Sons of Kemet
Recording / Production National
18. Instrumental Album of the Year: Muse – Nils Wogram
19. Vocal Album of the Year: HOLLYWOOD ISN’T CALLING – Efrat Alony
20. Debut Album of the Year: Trippin – Magro
21. Broadcast Production of the Year: WDR 3 / States of Play: Sonifikation
Recording / Production International
22. Instrumental Album of the Year: Tone Poem – Charles Lloyd
23. Vocal Album of the Year: Flor – Gretchen Parlato
24. Debut Album of the Year: Brainteaser – Tijn Wybenga & AM.OK
25. Club of the Year: Stadtgarten Köln
26. Festival of the Year: XJAZZ! festival
Composition / Arrangement
27. Paris Zyklus | The Spirit of the Streets – Rebecca Trescher
28. Arrangement of the Year: Se la mia morte brami – Tilo Weber
Special Prizes
29. Journalistic Achievement: Andrian Kreye – American Idol
30. Lifetime Achievement: Ernst-Ludwig Petrowsky
31. Special Prize of the Jury: Hard Boiled Wonderland – Music Resistance

Please note: Deutscher Jazzpreis of the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media has no connection, either in terms of organisation or content, with Neuer Deutscher Jazzpreis of IG Jazz Rhein-Neckar e.V., which is awarded once a year in Mannheim as the audience prize of the German jazz scene. Further information on Neuer Deutscher Jazzpreis can be found at


Portrait Sabine Bachmann
© Frank Siemers

Sabine Bachmann

Co-Owner Skip Records

Portrait Kai-Uwe Diaz Philipp

Kai-Uwe Diaz Philipp

Senior Communication Manager Classical & Jazz Sony Music

Portrait Jörg Heidemann
© Stefan Wieland

Jörg Heidemann

Managing director VUT - Association of Independent Musicians and Music Companies

Dr. Harald Kisiedu

Musicologist, Lecturer in jazz history and jazz studies at the Institute of Music at Osnabrück University of Applied Sciences

Portrait Alexandra Lehmler
© Felix Groteloh

Alexandra Lehmler

musician, member of Deutsche Jazzunion's board

Portrait Hans Lüdemann
© Volker Beushausen

Hans Lüdemann

pianist/composer, Deutscher Komponistenverband

Portrait Beate Sampson
© Anna Sturm

Beate Sampson

Editor, Music Journalist & Moderator at BR

Annika Sautter
© Arne Reimer

Annika Sautter

Head of Leipziger Jazztage, member of the advisory board for music, Leipzig Cultural Office

Portrait Johanna Schneider
© Jens Oschmann

Johanna Schneider

Singer, composer, co-organiser of the PENG Festival

PortraitLisa Tuyala
© Janine Kuehn

Lisa Tuyala

Cultural Manager (Kulturkabinett e.V.), Musician, Co-Initiator Women* of Music

Arndt Weidler

Sociologist, Head of projects at Jazzinstitut Darmstadt

Portrait Steffen Wilde
© Mandy Rosenstiel

Steffen Wilde

Management Jazzclub Tonne


Hannes Möller

project management GERMAN JAZZ PRIZE

Greta Kallsen

project management GERMAN JAZZ PRIZE